The National Secondary Schools Mooting Competition

The National Secondary Schools Mooting Competition hosted by Te Piringa, Faculty of Law, University of Waikato featured four teams from Hamilton Girls’ High School. Louise Eaves, Talia Pace and Tia Kendall were one of eight teams selected from a pool of 68 teams nationally, to compete in the semi-final round held at the Hamilton District Court. Our girls were required to prepare a written submission and present an oral argument against a team from Hamilton Boys’ High School before two District Court judges. The case being contested was a judicial review of a School’s disciplinary processes related to an indefinite suspension. All of our teams worked incredibly hard and represented our School with pride.