Arts Trophies & Awards

The following Arts trophies are presented to students for a variety of achievements including excellence in personal participation or contributing significantly to group successes.





Recipient 2018

Top ARTS Award

Dux Artium

for High Achievement across a range of Art Endeavours


Jaedyn Randell


Amelia Jane Henry Memorial Trophy

for Creative Flair in Y11 Visual Arts

In Memory of Year 11 Amelia Jane Henry who passed away in 2004.

Jheel Das


Creative Flair in Year 11 Digital Art  

For consistently producing highly creative work of an excellence standard that shows originality, risk taking and imagination



Teremai Jarrett


Creative Flair in Year 12 Visual Art

For consistently producing highly creative work of an excellence standard that shows originality, risk taking and imagination.



Hannah Park

Bryre Aish


Creative Flair in Year 13 Visual Art

for consistently producing highly creative work of an excellence standard that shows originality, risk taking and imagination



Ezra Vette

Hannah Miller

Visual Arts


Horace Moore-Jones Art Award

For an outstanding Visual Art student who has demonstrated excellence and commitment to the Visual arts and is going on to pursue a career in the Visual Arts.


Awarded $500.00

Hannah Miller


Neil Ieremia Trophy

for Excellence in Choreography

Across a variety of school productions, solo competitions, extra curricular groups or dance classes.

Pidgeon Kapea


O'Reilly cup for Performance

for Excellence in Dance Performance


Junior or senior dance student who has performed at an Excellence Level in dance as a subject and or at a high level in extra curricular dance groups (such as production, junior dance club or hip hop group, dance nz made solos).

Emily Gilbert


Smoke Free Drama Cup

for Participation in Drama


Kristyn Rayner


Judith Miles Drama Cup

for Outstanding Drama Performance


Aimee Holton


HGHS Talent Quest Trophy

for Highest scoring HGHS student in the HGHS & HBHS combined Talent Quest


Breanna Findon

Kapa Haka

Te Pou Tikanga award

for outstanding leadership in the art of karanga for kaupapa-ā-kura and kapa haka.



Not presented in 2018


Mā Te Ūpoko Pakaru, Ka Eke award

for outstanding work ethic in kapa haka.



Riria Kingi


Te Māhuritanga

for  Most Improved Kaihaka Wahine in Te Maurea Whiritoi.



Teina Whiu


Whatukura Māreikura Whakairo

for outstanding leadership to kapa haka. ‘Me ko Hine Rēhia koe’

Carved taonga donated to Te Maurea Whiritoi by a past parent, Matua Warren McGrath. This whakairo is shared between HBHS and HGHS

Jaedyn Randell


Te Puāwaitanga O Te Whakaaro trophy

For the student who has displayed the essence of Princess Te Puea Hērangi’s whakatauāki “I te ohonga ake i aku moemoeā, ko te puāwaitanga o te whakaaro”.  

This whakatauāki speaks about the awakening to realise and fulfil one's potential.

Jaedyn Randell

Multicultural Council

Global Citizenship Award

for the student who has best promoted international relationships within the school


New Trophy for 2019

Jessica Wang


Choral Music Trophy

for outstanding Contribution to Choral Music

Awarded to a student who has shown leadership in choral music throughout the school. Donated by Mrs R Dewerse (Music teacher 1996-98)

Kaleesha Messent


Clement-Earls Cup

for Contribution to School Music


Kate Sampson


Landy Tyrell-Nonoa Trophy

for Creativity in Music Award

Showing great flair in the area of music performance, composition or both.

Bryre Aish


Mary Allan Beethoven Award

for Participation in Co-curricular Music Groups


Shyla Paikea


Contribution to Barbershop Performance Trophy

for the student or group who has made a significant contribution to ‘The Art of Barbershop singing’.

Donated by Barbershop Tutor Lynn Jamieson

Grace Notes

Natassja Medina

Halle Aish

Laura Dudley

Alice Walker


Leadership Award (Honu Plate) 


This plate is awarded to the student who best exemplifies the role of the honu.  She guides, leads and where necessary, counsels our Pasifika students to reach for excellence.

Myana Tuakana

Te Puawai Arts Pin

Te Puawai Pin

for exceptional achievements of students who have gained a first placing at a National level.

The name of this award has been taken from our Auditorium Arts Complex name “Nga Puawaitanga” or ‘the blossoming’.  Te Puawai thus translates as Blossom or Flower. It is inscribed on the pin and is used to celebrate the creative journey of a blossom, or in this case, our students.

Kaleesha Messent

Bryre Aish

Hayley Monaghan

Jayden Randell



Liley Award

For Excellence in Senior Visual Arts


Ezra Vette

The Arts

Cultural Captain Cup


Savannah Mattyasovszky


Ruth Rainsford Memorial Cup

For Excellence in Year 11 Art


Jessica Kong


Photo Life Graphics Art Award

Awarded to the Top Level 2 Visual Art student

Camera and certificate donated


Hannah Miller


Senior Visual Arts Award

For outstanding performance in Art



Talent Quest Badge

Talent Quest Badge