Waikato Secondary Schools Sports Awards

On Sunday 2nd November the Waikato Secondary School Sports Awards supported by Wintec at the Atrium on the Wintec Hamilton Campus.  It was a fantastic afternoon to celebrate sporting success and those who contribute to our school sporting communities. The school is able to nominate only one person from each sporting code recognised at these awards.  We are fortunate to have some hugely talented girls at our school and in many categories it was extremely difficult to narrow it down to one nominee from that code.  We had 24 student nominees, 4 administrative and 2 coaching nominees.  A huge congratulations goes firstly to each of these finalists.  The awards certainly highlighted the wealth of talent that we have in the Waikato region and to make it to this stage deserves recognition. 

  • Basketball Alyssa Hirawani,
  • Bowls Ashleigh Jeffcoat,
  • Ki O Rahi Diamond Henry,
  • Multi Sports (Tri/Duathlon/Aquathon) Katie Lush,
  • Netball Pania Monk,
  • Rowing Georgia Allen,
  • Rugby Union Ariana Hira-Herangi,
  • Softball Pania Monk,
  • Touch Nominee Tenika Willison,
  • Water Polo Emma Ballard,
  • Administrator of the Year George May,
  • Coach of the Year Crystal Kaua


As the accolades of each nominee were read out it became apparent that there was very little separating the finalists and we were extremely pleased for the following girls who were all named as the Sportswoman of the Year in their respective codes. This is a huge honour and we are extremely proud of each of these young women.

Ashleigh Jeffcoat
Katie Lush
Multi Sports
Georgia Allen
Ariana Hira-Herangi
Rugby Union