Student Leadership

Student leaders at Hamilton Girls’ High School are given the opportunity to lead and promote a culture that fosters excellence and participation within our school community.
All students are encouraged to develop their leadership skills through participation and service.

O le ala i le pule o le tautua
The pathway to leadership is through service by Hamilton Girls’ High School

Executive Council

Our Executive Council is made up of our top 6 Prefects that lead their respective councils in our school:

  • Head Girl
  • Academic Captain
  • Student Council Captain
  • Arts Captain
  • Sports Captain
  • Services Captain
  • Sonninghill Hostel Head Girl
  • The Deputy Head Girl is selected from one of these positions.
Leadership Opportunities
  • Tutor group leader
  • Prefect
  • Peer support
  • Peer tutoring
  • Arts
  • Sport
  • Coaching
  • Peer Mentoring
  • Tuakana-Teina Support
  • Co-curricular Groups
Service Scheme

The Service Awards Scheme acknowledges students who have given extraordinary service to Hamilton Girls’ High School and the community. Awards are given for service to particular areas of the school, and a culmination of hours sees our students awarded with overall Bronze, Silver and Gold awards.

Hours can be accrued for a number of different service activities, including (but not limited to) the following:

  • Sports coaching
  • Tutoring of artistic pursuits e.g. dance
  • Mentoring

The scheme is managed by our Service Council of Prefects.

  • Voluntary performances
  • Service initiatives
  • Volunteer work
  • Head Girl
  • Academic Council
  • Arts Council
  • Services Council
  • Sports Council
  • Student Council
  • Sonninghill Hostel Council

Head Girl

Rebecca Yuan

Our Head Girl leads the Executive Council.  This is made up of 5 Executive Prefects,each with a responsibility of a Council. 

The role of the Head Girl includes representing the school at public events, running assemblies, leading events at school and oversight of Leadership week.


Our Academic Captain leads the Academic Council. This council is made up of the following Prefects:

Academic Council Captain
Alex Matai’a

Business Studies Prefect
Alla-Marie Curtis

English Prefect
Naima Noor


Languages Prefect
Milan Phillips

Health & PE Prefect
Claire Morris

Mathematics Prefect
Bianca Stephens

Science Prefect
Johanna Vreede

Social Sciences Prefect
Stella Larsen

Technology Prefect
Tahlia Read

The Arts Prefect
Lily Anderson

Each prefect will lead and convene a committee of 10-12 across all year levels. Their primary focus will be to promote their area of responsibility to the student body, to lead and co-ordinate a tutoring system and to inspire interest and involvement through participation and challenge. A key focus will be on initiatives to raise student achievement.


Our Arts Captain leads the Arts Council. This Council is made up of eight Prefects:

Arts Council Captain
Emma Thien

Visual Arts Prefects
Emma James

Kapahaka Prefect
Amokura Salmon Turoa

Music Prefect
Georgia Ewins

Drama Prefect
Rebekah Belbin

Dance Prefect
Ava McMorran

Media Prefect
Morgan Van Loggenberg

Each prefect will lead and convene a committee of 10-12 across all year levels.  Their primary focus will be to promote their area of responsibility to the student body, to lead and co-ordinate curricular and co-curricular activities, celebrate success and achievement and to organize and promote participation in local, regional, national and international competitions.

Services COUNCIL

Our Services Captain leads the Service’s Council. This Council is made up of seven Prefects:

Services Council Captain
Bronte Harcourt

Library Prefect
Deanna-Jane Hitaua

Services Prefect
Grace Ahipene

Services Prefect
Kiri Hill-Grant

Services Prefect
Emily Purves

Services Prefect
Rachel Yang

Each prefect will lead a committee of 10-12 across all year levels.  They will be responsible for promoting their area of responsibility to the student body through the organisation and celebration of events relative to their portfolio e.g. Daffodil Day, celebrating success and achievement and organising and promoting participation in events and house activities.


Our Sports Captain leads the Sports Council. This council is made up of eight prefects.

Sports Council Captain
Gabrielle Austin

Sports Council Prefect
Kaiya Kepa

Sports Council Prefect
Lucy Rennie

Sports Council Prefect
Maia Chandler

Sports Council Prefect
Tayla Norman

Sports Council Prefect
Marewa Samson

Sports Council Prefect
Ruby Paterson

Each prefect represent two code’s but also select other portfolio’s in the Council such as High Performance, Events Organisation, House Sporting Events, Coach Development, Umpire Development and Marketing and Promotion


Our Student Council Captain leads the Student Council.
This Council is made up of four prefects that will lead specific year groups.

Student Council Captain
Sophie Matai’a

Manaaki Prefect
Aisha Sheriff

Sustainability Prefect
Aster Jovaras

GATE Prefect
Maire Chubb

Learning Support Prefect
Natalie Lee

Manukura Māori Prefect
Aisha Skinner

Multicultural Prefect
Liah Berridge

Pasifika Prefect
Kafoatu Tauaika

The student council meet regularly to discuss student issues.
The Board of Trustee’s student representative is also on this Council.


Our Sonninghill Hostel Head Girl leads the Sonninghill Hostel Executive Council.
This Council is made up of five prefects.

Sonninghill Hostel Head Girl
Rachel Apiti

Sonninghill Hostel Deputy Head Girl
Emily Leen

Sonninghill Hostel
Executive Council
Kalani Bourke

Sonninghill Hostel
Executive Council
Claire Morris

Sonninghill Hostel
Executive Council
Bridget Woods